TiSe Profiles
FiSe Profiles
FiNe Profiles
SiFe Profiles
NiFe Profiles
NiTe Profiles
SiTe Profiles
Raw data analysis, and avoiding self confirmation bias

Home 2023 Forums General Psychology Raw data analysis, and avoiding self confirmation bias

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Starshade
    Participant
    • Type: NeFi
    • Development: ll-l
    • Attitude: Seelie

Some years ago I found an personal puzzle which, took me 2-3 years to figure out: how do an Humanities/Sosial Antrophology theory focused Cultural History student, with zero STEM, read DNA data well enough to find Saami heritage using Myheritage?
    The answer: I needed help of STEM. And secondary, learn to work with the genetics data. And I started learning how bad some publications handle their data sets, and how hobbyists often can mismanage theirs.
    Ok, In order to make an system, the DNA people seem to use several data methods, of which I found a few interesting.
    Self Confirmation bias, is using your own type data used to make the system, to test your own system. This is a Phd level typology issue, which, can affect quite advanced research; it can affect any data driven type system, therefore my post on this.
    What I have learned, is the STEM approach, is this:

• Select a set of core data for making your system, and de-select a few good analytical data, of which will be set aside to test your finished product.
    • Make the system.
    • Test the new system, with your safe and sure data, for which you know should work as espected.

The biggest differences is CT 1.0 uses a set of 110 datapoints where DNA companies goes in the range of 3 thousand data points. But thought I should share some thoughts on this; the flaw, is, with this idea, you need an external souce of data, to use this methodology.

unknown
    Participant
    • Type: Unknown
    • Development:
    • Attitude: Unknown

using your own type data used to make the system, to test your own system