Reply To: The Fe Myth & Meta Narratives

Index Forums Cognitive Functions The Fe Myth & Meta Narratives Reply To: The Fe Myth & Meta Narratives

Animal
Participant
  • Type: SeFi
  • Development: lll-
  • Attitude: Unseelie

I strongly agree with @Auburn ‘s assertion that ‘naming it isn’t his choice.’ And that further evaluation is needed to clarify this. Just to make my position clear.

As a writer myself, I also feel that the characters tell me who they are; I don’t get to decide.  I don’t want to kill off certain characters but I have to, because that is part of their arc and what is needed to bring the mythology to fruition.

I couldn’t agree more that this has to develop organically. I’m just clarifying my own reaction to some of the ideas that have been presented, but on the whole, the Fe myth will have to name itself. Its truth will have to reveal itself.

It may be true that the Hero is the best name, for the reason that it forces us to consider alternative ways of viewing heroism.  But in that case, I feel it is absolutely imperative that stories like Harry Potter are acknowledged as “Se Hero” myths in which a trickster destroys the leader’s plans, and frees the world from the tyranny of corrupt Fe (or Je).  If stories like that are lumped into Fe, then we defeat the beauty that may come of exploring different angles on heroism.

In my opinion, if we are going to explore Fe ‘heroism’ in an intellectually honest light, then we will also explore myths that are similar to Voldemort, and which portray the darker side of ‘getting rid of your own feelings to become something more.’ Corrupt leaders, false messiahs – these people are everywhere. Why aren’t they covered in the article, like they are for the other types?