Reply To: About You?

Index Forums Official & Introductions About You? Reply To: About You?

Animal
Participant
  • Type: SeFi
  • Development: lll-
  • Attitude: Unseelie

What is your name?  Or the story behind your alias?
My most recent incarnation is: Erica Xenne.  Xen –  the prefix, means ‘foreigner’ or ‘stranger.’ -Ne, the suffix, means ‘not.’

I was a professional singer as a teen, and lost my voice to an illness at 16 which left me speaking in a whisper forever.  Stripped of humanity and purpose, I was an animal; with no reason to live outside desire and instinct.  After intensive spiritual work, I summoned the ghost of my voice from the grave and organized my life around singing lead through my whisper and running my band.  Erica was reborn.

The given name Erika, or Erica, is a feminine form of Eric, deriving from the Old Norse name Eiríkr. The first element, ei- is derived either from the older Proto-Norse *aina(z), meaning “one, alone, unique”, as in the form Æinrikr explicitly, or from *aiwa(z) “long time, eternity”. The second element -ríkr stems either from *ríks “king, ruler” (cf. Gothic reiks) or from the therefrom derived *ríkijaz “kingly, powerful, rich”. The name is thus usually taken to mean “sole ruler, autocrat” or “eternal ruler, ever powerful”.

At that time, I changed my surname to Xenne , because I was a foreigner, exiled from Erosia, my passion; but I was also not a stranger to myself – I was channeling the essence of Erosia.  With or without my voice, I am a vessel through which passion emerges.

My last incarnation in this lifetime has arisen from the ashes, and taken form.  She still awaits a name, but on forums it has been “Animal” for years.  Animal is “so carnal it’s spiritual,” a pure force of vitality unobstructed by the complications of humanity — but also, a more base life form; one which consumes and destroys without remorse. There’s a hunter aspect in Animal, and also the idea of an ‘animating life force.’  (Anima – breath.)