Reply To: “Art” is not related to Ji nor “Variety” to Pe.

Home Page Forums Cognitive Functions “Art” is not related to Ji nor “Variety” to Pe. Reply To: “Art” is not related to Ji nor “Variety” to Pe.

LadyNerdsky
Participant
  • Type: FiNe
  • Development: ll-l
  • Attitude: Unseelie

YES. YES. YES.

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy the arts. I’m a serious amateur musician who thought about being a pro at one stage. I enjoy visiting galleries and museums. BUT. The sticking-point when I read Fi profiles online is this over-stating of Fi being desperate to express their inner emotions and feelings via an artistic expression, or “artform”, almost writing it as if it’s a mandatory part of Fi and if you don’t feel this way then you’re not a true Fi-lead (or even Aux).

I see Fi as perfectionism in upholding my subjective values. I see myself as more of a scientist than a creative, and I don’t feel like I’m suffocating or dying if I can’t express my emotional inner world in some tangible artistic format.

Instead, I apply that Fi perfectionism in my very non-artistic job. I’m in a scientific para-medical field working with people with disability. I use that perfectionism to work hard, never give-up, and go that extra mile to ensure that everyone gets the best chance of a good quality of life, no matter their circumstance.